3 CrossFit Myths Debunked

Austin Schlessinger
2 min readApr 10, 2023

--

I have been working out consistently for 10 years. The first five years were spent on bodybuilding and powerlifting. I got stronger and stronger, but less and less athletic.

It was uncomfortable to lift my arms over my head, I struggled with any cardiovascular exercises, and I was constantly injured. I realized I needed to change my workout regimen. So, I did some research and stumbled on CrossFit; a workout program that has notoriously been ridiculed by the fitness community.

After 5 years of doing CrossFit, and I’ve never felt healthier and in tune with my body. It’s unfortunate so many people have a negative attitude toward the sport because it’s changed so many people’s lives; including mine.

So in this post, I’ll be demystifying three CrossFit myths and why they aren’t true so you can reap the many benefits this program has to offer:

  1. CrossFit is dangerous.

I’m not saying there is no risk of injury while doing Crossfit. All sports come with a risk of injury. Most CrossFit injuries come from one thing: performing movements incorrectly. If you focus on first, building a solid foundation around the core CrossFit movements and second, increasing intensity then you’ll decrease your risk of injury.

  1. Crossfit isn’t for older people.

Contrary to popular belief, there are many CrossFitters in their 40s, 50s, 60s, and even 70s! There are many benefits of doing CrossFit even as you get older: improved longevity, decreased risk of disease, and happiness.

  1. CrossFit will make you small or bulky.

For those afraid of losing muscle…

One of my biggest concerns with starting CrossFit was that I’d start losing muscle. I had been building muscle for five years and didn’t want to lose it from the cardiovascular nature of CrossFit. Well, five years into doing CrossFit and I’ve maintained a consistent body fat percentage of 11% and a weight of 195 pounds.

For those afraid of getting bulky…

Putting on muscle is far more difficult than it seems. Just because you start lifting weights doesn’t mean you are instantly going to get striations in your muscles and gain 20 pounds of muscle. CrossFit is designed to make people fit, strong, and healthy. It’s not all about bulking up.

--

--